Skip to page body Home About Cherokee County Online Services Departments Residents I want to…

This Department is comprised of three units: the Economic Services Unit, the Services Unit, and the Clerical Unit. Each unit provides a different level of assistance.

Economic Services Unit

The Economic Services Unit, primarily, determines eligibility for medical and financial assistance programs such as:

  • Adult Medicaid
  • Medicaid to Families and Children
  • Carolina Access
  • Child Care
  • Crisis Program
  • Food and Nutrition Program
  • LIEAP (Low Income Energy Assistance Program) 
  • North Carolina Health Choice for Children
  • Program Integrity or Fraud Investigation
  • TANF (Temporary Assistance for Needy Families)
  • Work First Employment Services

Services Unit

The Services Unit provides social work services for:

  • Children, Families and Adults
  • Adoption
  • Child Protective Services
  • Foster Care
  • Adult Protective Services
  • Guardianship
  • Monitoring Adult Care Homes
  • Representative Payee

Clerical Unit

The Clerical Unit provides the support functions required for both the Income Maintenance Unit and the Services Unit. The three units must work in coordination with one another on a daily basis in order to adequately assist the individuals and families in our county.

Last updated: 9/20/2017 2:43:45 PM