Cherokee County Board of Commissioners Special Meeting Minutes 12 May 2025

This Special Meeting of the Cherokee County Board of Commissioners was called for the stated purpose of discussion of FY 25-26 budget for the Cherokee County Sheriff's Office and Detention Center and the Solid Waste Department.

Present were Chairman Dan Eichenbaum, Vice-Chairman Cal Stiles, Commissioner Mark Stiles, Commissioner Ben Adams, Commissioner Allen Byrant, County Manager Randy Wiggins, CFO Candy Anderson, Ralph Robinson of Local TV4, Sheriff Dustin Smith, Chief Deputy Justin Jacobs, Captain David Williams, and County Attorney and acting Clerk to the Board, Darryl Brown.

At 6:30 p.m. the meeting was called to Order by Chairman Dan Eichenbaum.

The invocation was offered by Commissioner Allen Bryant.

The Chairman lead the reciting of the Pledge of Allegiance.

County Manager Wiggins explained the differences between his recommended budget and the CCSO requested budget. The Board began an extensive discussion of Involuntary Commitment transportation costs and the 108% rise in those costs. Alternatives to the current IVC transportation contract were discussed. The Board also addressed with the Sheriff a proposed change in the jail medical services contract and the benefits and higher costs of changing providers.

The County Manager presented to the Board capital needs for the Solid Waste Department. A new track hoe is needed as repair of the current machine would cost more than the value of the machine. The County Manager explained the need for a new dump truck and related the mileage and condition of current dump trucks in the fleet. The County Manager also discussed the need for an upgrade at the Martins Creek convenience site due to safety issues. Hours of convenience site operation were also discussed.

Commissioner Stiles made a motion to adjourn. The motion was seconded by Chairman Eichenbaum and passed unanimously. The meeting was adjourned at 7:42 PM.

THESE MINUTES WERE APPROVED AT A REGULAR MEETING OF THE CHEROKEE COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS ON JUNE 16, 2025.