Alerts and Notices

◄ Back
December 7, 2020


WHEREAS, the World Health Organization has declared a global pandemic due to the COVID-19 virus, AKA the novel Coronavirus.
WHEREAS, The Governor of the State of North Carolina, Roy Cooper, has declared a statewide state of emergency due to the outbreak of COVID-19 pursuant to the Authority vested in him by NCGS Chapter 166A.
WHEREAS, Cherokee County Emergency Management has an Emergency Action Plan in place and has been working with County Government and the Health Director to implement the plan when and if COVID-19 appeared in Cherokee County.
WHEREAS, the first reported case of COVID-19 infection was reported in Cherokee County on 18 March 2020.
WHEREAS, Cherokee County citizens have perished from COVID-19.
WHEREAS, the Cherokee County Health Department continues to report new cases of COVID-19 within the confines of Cherokee County.
WHEREAS, The Honorable Roy Dickey, the outgoing Chairman of the Cherokee County Board of Commissioners, vacated his Declaration of a State of Emergency as of 6:30 p.m. on 7 December 2020.
WHEREAS, the health and safety of the Citizens of Cherokee County remain of paramount concern of the government of Cherokee County.
WHEREAS, North Carolina General Statute 166A-19.22 vests authority in local governments to declare states of emergency.
WHEREFORE, The Honorable Dr. Dan Eichenbaum, Chairman of the Cherokee County Board of Commissioners, pursuant to the powers vested in me under Chapter 166A, Article 1A does hereby:
1. Declares a continuing State of Emergency within the confines of Cherokee County excluding the property and persons within the Town of Andrews and the Town of Murphy.
2. A copy of this declaration and subsequent executive orders issued under authority of this declaration shall be posted at county facilities, on Cherokee County’s website and shall be distributed by the County Manager to local media outlets.
3. That this declaration shall be effective upon signing and shall remain in effect until rescinded or modified.

Dr. Dan Eichenbaum, Chairman

Facebook Twitter Email