Cherokee County Sheriff’'s Office

Concealed Handgun Permit Information

Concealed Handgun Permits are by appointment.
(Renewals, call at least 3 months prior to expiration date of permit)
Contact the Gun Permit Dept. at (828) 837-2589 to make your appointment.
Complete all pages of application packet.

Do NOT DATE or SIGN any pages prior to your appointment.
(Our notary service is included with this application process.)

Please use this checklist to help prepare for the appointment:
NC Gen. Statutes 14-404; 14-415.11; 14-415.12; 14-415.13; (https://www.ncdot.gov/dmv/moving/)
Allow approximately 45 minutes/1 hour for NEW permit appointments; 30 minutes/Renewals.

Provide a current/valid/legible North Carolina Driver's License (if you drive) or NC ID Card displaying your
current residential address (https://www.ncdot.gov/dmv/moving/)

Must be a resident of Cherokee County for a minimum of 30 days
Military personnel DD-214 (discharge paper) showing characterization of service (i.e., “Honorable” discharge)

Must provide a VALID North Carolina Handgun Training Certificate for NEW permit (NOT for RENEWALS)
(certificates expire 1 year from issue date)

Must be fingerprinted at time of application for a NEW permit (NOT for RENEWALS)
Must be a minimum of 21 years old
Must pay a non-refundable fee: $90/NEW application or $75/RENEWAL that has not expired {exact cash/check)

***Provide names, mailing addresses and fax numbers of physical and mental health providers/clinics as well
as substance abuse providers/clinics in order to complete the Release of Information form from the Administrative
Office of the Court that is found within this application packet.***

Concealed Handgun Permit RENEWALS
NC Gen. Statute 14-415.16; 14-415.9 (fees)

* RENEWALS must apply at least 30 days PRIOR to your expiration date, but no more than 90 days prior.
CALL at least 3 months prior to expiration date of permit to get appointment.

» If your permit has EXPIRED, but it has been LESS than 60 days since the permit expired, you will be required to apply
as a NEW APPLICANT, be fingerprinted and pay the $90 non-refundable fee, but you will not be required to submit a
new training certificate.

» |f more than 60 days has passed since your permit EXPIRED, NC LAW requires you to retake the CONCEALED
HANDGUN TRAINING COURSE, apply as a NEW APPLICANT, submit the NEW training certificate with the
application, be fingerprinted and pay the non-refundable $90 fee.

When your permit is ready, we will call you:
NC Gen. Statute 14-415.15

® |t may take up to 45 days to issue, AFTER receipt of all responses from other agencies involved. Then the SBI will
print and mail the permit to our office at which time we will finish processing. Once your permit is ready, we will call
you. The applicant will then come to our office, present a current/valid/legible North Carolina Driver’s License/ID card
that matches the Permit, and sign the Permit in front of a CCSO staff member.

*** It is your responsibility to know the gun laws.***

I have read and understand that | must meet the above requirements by the time of the application appointment. | must also
complete the application completely, accurately and include all previous names.

APPLICANT SIGNATURE or INITIALS DATE




STATE OF NORTH CAROLINA APPLICATION FOR
Name of Applicant (Last, First, Middle, Maiden) € Attach listing of all CONCEALED HANDGUN PERMIT
previous addresses and all name changes including location and court file
number (If Applicable) [] NEW PERMIT [] RENEWAL PERMIT

D DUPLICATE D EMERGENCY TEMPORARY PERMIT

G. S. 14-415.10 et seq.

Street Address Date of Birth Social Security Number (See Notification page 3
City State Zip Code Driver’s License Number (State ID Number if no driver’s license) State
Mailing Address Military Status |:| Active D Reserve Race Sex Hair

D Discharged D Retired D N/A
Telephone Number County of Residence Eyes Height Weight Other Physical Description

APPLICATION

I, the undersigned applicant, being duly sworn, hereby make application for a North Carolina Concealed Handgun Permit
and state that the following information is correct to the best of my knowledge.

(Check Appropriate Boxes)

1. Are you a citizen of the United States? M [JYes [No
2. Are you 21 years of age or older? @ [dYes [No
3. Have you been a resident of North Carolina for 30 days or longer immediately preceding the date of this application? (3) [1Yes [INo
4. Do you suffer from a physical or mental infirmity that prevents the safe handling of a handgun? @  [Yes [No
5. Have you successfully completed an approved firearms safety and training course which involved the actual firing

of handguns and instruction in the laws of North Carolina governing the carrying of a concealed handgun and the

use of deadly force? ¢ If Yes, attach documentation 6) [JYes [JNo

“1fNo: Do you meet the retired law enforcement officer exception in N.C.G.S. § 14-415.12(A)? : [JYes [JNo

& If Yes, attach documentation

6. Are you ineligible to own, possess, or receive a firearm under the provisions of state or federal law? © [JYes [INo

7. Are you under indictment or has a finding of probable cause been entered against you for a pending felony charge? (7) [JYes [No

8. Have you been adjudicated guilty in any court of a felony? ® [JYes" [JNo
“If Yes: Have your firearm rights been restored pursuant to N.C.G.S. § 14-415.4? N [JYes [JNo
¢ If Yes, attach documentation
9. Are you a fugitive from justice? © [JYes [No
10. Are you an unlawful user of (or addicted to) marijuana, alcohol, or any depressant, stimulant, or narcotic drug,
or any other controlled substance as defined in 21 U.S.C. § 8027 10) [JYes [INo
11. Are you currently or have you been previously adjudicated or administratively determined to be lacking
mental capacity or mentally ill? 1) [JYes [No
12. Have you been discharged from the U.S. Armed Forces under conditions other than honorable? (120 [JYes [JNo

13. Have you been adjudicated guilty of, or received a prayer for judgment continued for, or received a suspended sentence
for, one or more crimes of violence constituting a misdemeanor, including but not limited to, a violation of the disqualifying
criminal offenses listed page 3 of this form? ¢ See “List of Disqualifying Criminal Offenses” on page 3 13 [Yes [JNo

14. Have you had an entry of prayer for judgment continued for a criminal offense which would disqualify you
from obtaining a handgun permit? (14 [JYes [JNo

15. Are you free on bond or personal recognizance pending trial, appeal, or sentencing for a crime which
would disqualify you from obtaining a concealed handgun permit? (159 [JYes [No

16. Have you been convicted of an impaired driving offense under G.S. 20-138.1, 20-138.2, or 20-138.3
within three years prior to the date of this application? @6) [JYes [JNo
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[0 I'hereby apply for temporary emergency permit for a nonrenewable period of up to 45 days based upon the
information set forth below. | reasonably believe than an emergency situation exists which may constitute a
risk of safety to me, my family, or my property.

State Grounds for Temporary Emergency Permit (Use attachment if necessary)

SWORN TO AND SUBSCRIBED TO BEFORE ME | P

Date Signature of Person Authorized to Administer Oaths Signature of Applicant

Title

CAUTION

Federal law and State law on the possession of handguns and
firearms may differ. If you are prohibited by federal law

Date Commission Expires

SEAL from possessing a handgun or a firearm, you may be
prosecuted in federal court. A State permit is not a defense
to a federal prosecution.

e e SHERIFF USE ONLY
Check List — check applicable boxes

1. Nonrefundable permit fee Paid .........ccveurvvrceriinirinireinieieeseseseesssenenns O 8. Date issued Temporary Permit: [
2. One full set of fingerprints administered by the Sheriff’s Office .............. O 9. Date denied Temporary Permit: O
3. Original certificate of completion 10. Date issued Permit: D

of approved firearms safety & training COUISE ..........ccevevrrrrrerirerereninnnnns D

Permit Number:

4. Renewal —~Waiver of Application Firearm Safety & Training Course....... D
5. Attachment(s) (specify): I:I 11. Date denied Permit: |:’
6. Temporary dOCUMENtAION ..............ovveeveervrereeesrsseneecaeeessesssesesssessseseseees O 12. Date submitted to SBL: ]
7. Other: I:I 13. NICS Transaction Number (NTN):

Signature of Sheriff:

Original — Sheriff / Copy—SBI / Copy— Applicant
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SHEEEp
S Cherokee County Sheriff’s Office

577 Regal Street
i Murphy, NC 28906
Phone: 828-837-2589

Address History

NAME

BEGINNING WITH YOUR CURRENT ADDRESS LIST ALL ADDRESSES FOR THE PAST 10 YEARS

YEARS AT ADDRESS

ADDRESS CiTY/STATE/ZIP/COUNTY FROM To

Please put any additional information on the back of this page.

SIGNATURE DATE




"STATE OF NORTH CAROLINA RELEASE OF PHYSICAL AND MENTAL HEALTH,
SUBSTANCE ABUSE AND CONFIDENTIAL COURT
County RECORDS FOR CONCEALED HANDGUN PERMIT

Name And Address Of Applicant Date Of Birth

Social Security No.

State Drivers License No. (State Identification No. If No Drivers License) State

| hereby authorize and require any and all doctors, hospitals or other providers who have ever provided physical or mental
health or substance abuse treatment or care to me, including without limitation the providers named below, to release to
the sheriff of the above named county any and all records concerning my physical capacity, mental health, mental capacity
or substance abuse that the sheriff may reasonably request in connection with my application for a concealed handgun
permit. The purpose of the release is to enable the sheriff to determine my qualification and competence to handle a
handgun. | understand that alcohol and substance abuse information is protected by federal regulations and that other
confidential records such as psychiatric information may be protected by North Carolina statute. Accordingly, | specifically
authorize the release of any and all alcohol, substance abuse and psychiatric information that may be documented in my
records.

| understand that further disclosure or redisclosure by the sheriff of any information disclosed to the sheriff pursuant to this
Release is prohibited without my further written consent unless otherwise provided for by state of federal law. |
understand that | may revoke this authorization at any time except to the extent that action has already been taken in
reliance on this Release. Even without my express revocation, this Release will expire upon the satisfaction of the
request or one year from the date below, whichever occurs first.

Name Of Provider Address Of Provider

Primary Care Clinic/Dr.

| also request and authorize any and all clerks of superior court of North Carolina to inform the sheriff of this County
whether or not the clerk's records contain the record of any involuntary commitment proceeding under Article 5 of Chapter
122C of the General Statutes in which | have been named as a respondent and, if so, to reveal to the sheriff any
confidential information in the court files or records of each such proceeding that the sheriff may reasonably require in
order to determine whether or not to issue a concealed handgun permit to me. This Release may be treated as a motion
in the cause within the meaning of G.S. 122C-54(d) and a clerk may reveal information to the sheriff pursuant to any
specific or standing order entered in response to or anticipation of this motion.

Any expenses relating to the search, production, copying and certification of a medical or court record pursuant to this
Release shall be my responsibility. | authorize the sheriff to photocopy this Release after | sign it, and | authorize any
provider to whom a photocopy of this Release is presented to rely on the photocopy as being as effective as the original.

Date

SWORN AND SUBSCRIBED TO BEFORE ME
Date Signature Of Person Authorized To Administer Oaths Signature Of Applicant

Title

Date Commission Expires
SEAL

AOC-SP-914M, New 12/95,
® 1997 Administrative Office of the Courts



THE DO'S AND DON'TS OF CARRYING A CONCEALED HANDGUN

1. Your permit to carry a concealed handgun must be carried along with valid identification
whenever the handgun is being carried concealed.

2. When approached or addressed by any officer, you must disclose the fact that you have
a valid concealed handgun permit and inform the officer that you are in possession of a
concealed handgun. You should not attempt to draw or display either your weapon or your
permit to the officer unless and until he/she directs you to do so. Your hands are to be kept
in plain view and you are not to make any sudden movements.

3. At the request of any law enforcement officer, you must display both the permit and
valid identification.

4. You may not, with or without a permit, carry a concealed weapon while consuming
alcohol or while alcohol or any substance, controlled or otherwise, is in your blood unless
the substance was obtained legally and taken in therapeutically appropriate amounts.

5. You must notify the Sheriff who issued the permit of any address change within thirty
(30) days of the change of address.

6. If a permit is lost or destroyed, you must notify the sheriff who issued the permit and
you may receive a duplicate permit by submitting a notarized statement to that effect along
with the required fee. Do not carry a handgun without it.

7. Even with a permit, you may not carry a concealed handgun in the following areas:

a) Any law enforcement or correctional facility;

b) Any space occupied by state or federal employees;

c) Any premises where the carrying of a concealed handgun is prohibited by the
posting of a statement by the controller of the premises;

d) Educational property;

e) Areas of assemblies, parades, funerals, or demonstrations;

f) State occupied property;

g) Any state or federal courthouse;

h) Any area prohibited by federal law;

i) Any local government building if the local government had adopted an ordinance
and posted signs prohibiting the carrying of concealed weapons.

8. If you are in a vehicle and stopped by a law enforcement officer, you should put both
hands on the steering wheel, announce you are in possession of a concealed handgun and
state where you have it concealed, and that you are in possession of a permit. Do not
remove your hands from the wheel until instructed to do so by the officer.

I , have read and understand the Do’s and Don’ts of
carrying a concealed handgun, and the Disqualifying Criminal Offenses pursuant to
N.C. General Statute § 14-415.12 (b)(8).

Signature , Date

Witness: , Date

Updated 04/19



GROUNDS FOR DENIAL

The Sheriff must deny a permit to any applicant whom:

= Isineligible to own, possess, or receive a firearm under the provisions of state or federal law;
* Isunderindictment or against whom a finding of probably cause exists for a felony;
*  Has been adjudicated guilty in any court of a felony;
« Isafugitive from justice;
= Isanunlawful user of, or addicted to marijuana, alcohol, or any depressant, stimulant, or narcotic drug, or any other
controlled substance;
* Iscurrently, or has been previously adjudicated or administratively determine to be, lacking mental capacity or
mentally ill;
« Isor has been discharged from the armed services under conditions other than honorable;
= Isor has been adjudicated guilty of or received a prayer for judgment continued or suspended sentence for one or
more crimes of violence constituting a misdemeanor, including but not limited to, violation of a misdemeanor under
Article 8 of Chapter 14 of the General Statutes, or a violation of one of the following N.C.G.S:
o Harassment of and communication with jurors (14-225.2)
o  Violating orders of court (14-226.1)
o  Furnishing poison, controlled substances, deadly weapons, cartridges, ammunition or alcoholic beverages to
inmates of charitable, mental or penal institutions or local confinement facilities (14-258.1)
Weapons on campus or other educational property (14-269.2)
Carrying weapons into assemblies and establishments where alcoholic beverages are sold and consumed
(14-269.3)
o  Weapons on state property and courthouses (14-269.4)
Possession and sale of spring-loaded projectile knives (14-269.6)
Impersonation of fireman, emergency medical services personnel, law-enforcement, or other public officers
(14-276.1 and 14-277)
Communicating threats (14-277.1)
Weapons at parades and other public gatherings (14-277.2)
Stalking (14-277.3)
Throwing or dropping of objects at sporting events (14-281.1)
Exploding dynamite cartridges and bombs(14-283)
Riot and inciting to riot (14-288.2)
Fighting or conduct creating a threat of imminent fighting or other violence (14-288.4(a)(1))
Making or using any utterance, gesture, display or abusive language which is intended and plainly likely to
provoke violent retaliation and thereby create a breach of peace (14-288.4(a)(2))
Looting and trespassing during emergency (14-288.6)
Assault on emergency personnel (14-288.9)
Violation of city State of Emergency Ordinances (14-288.12)
Violation of county State of Emergency Ordinances (14-288.13)
Violation of State of Emergency Ordinances (14-288.14)
Child abuse (14-318.2)
o Violations of the standards for carrying a concealed weapon (14-415.21(b))
Has had entry of a prayer for judgment continued for a criminal offense which would disqualify the person from
obtaining a concealed handgun permit;
Is free on bond or personal recognizance pending trial, appeal or sentencing for a crime which would disqualify him
from obtaining a concealed handgun permit;
Has been convicted of an impaired driving offense under N.C.G.S. 20-138.1, 20-138.1, 20-138.2 or 20-138.3 within 3
years prior to the date on which the application is submitted.

o

O 0O O 0O 0O 0 0O o

O O 0O 0O O O

Applicant Signature Date

Witness Signature Date



