RESOLUTION CALLING FOR A SPECIAL REFERENDUM TO ALTER THE STRUCTURE OF THE CHEROKEE COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS FROM THREE DISTRICT SEATS AND TWO "AT LARGE" SEATS, TO FIVE DISTRICT SEATS AND NO "AT-LARGE" SEATS

Whereas, the Cherokee County Board of Commissioners has discussed the need to alter the structure of the Cherokee County Board of Commissioners; and

Whereas, it is of the opinion of the Cherokee County Board of Commissioners that the current three district seats and two "at-large" seats, be changed to five district seats and no "at-large" seats; and,

Whereas, it is of the opinion of the Cherokee County Board of Commissioners that this would better provide for equal representation for all citizens of Cherokee County; and,

Whereas, the Cherokee County Board of Commissioners desires that the issue of increasing the number of electoral districts from three (3) to five (5) be placed on the ballot as a special referendum to be voted on by the qualified voters of Cherokee County; and,

Whereas, the issue of altering the composition of the Cherokee County Board of Commissioners must comply with §153A-60.

NOW THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED BY THE CHEROKEE COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS that:

1. A special referendum be called on the adoption of the alteration to the structure of the Cherokee County Board of Commissioners and the issue be placed on the ballot at the primary election to be held on May 8, 2012 as follows:

"Shall the structure of the board of commissioners be altered from three (3) districts and two (2) 'at-large' seats to five (5) districts and no 'at-large' seats, with voting for all five seats continuing to be countywide?"

[] YES [] NO"

- 2. If the qualified voters of the County vote in favor of increasing the number of electoral districts from three (3) to five (5), then District 1 shall consist of the following precincts: Topton, Andrews North, and Andrews South; District 2 shall consist of the following precincts: Marble and Peachtree; District 3 shall consist of the following precincts: Murphy North, Murphy South, and Brasstown; District 4 shall consist of the following precincts: Hothouse, Culberson, Ranger, and Bellview; District 5 shall consist of the following precincts: Unaka, Hiwassee Dam, Hanging Dog, and Grape Creek. A copy of the current and proposed District maps is attached hereto and includes the population counts for each District.
- 3. If the qualified voters of the County vote in favor of increasing the number of electoral districts from three (3) to five (5), then during the 2014 general election cycle, there shall be an election to elect the three (3) expiring seats for Districts One (1), Three (3) and Four (4); then during the 2016 general election cycle, there shall be an election to replace the two (2) "At-Large" seats with the Districts Two (2) and Five (5) seats. All of these terms shall continue to be four (4) year staggered terms. Additionally, all five seats shall continue to be elected county-wide and all candidates shall reside in the District for which they are seeking election.

Adopted this the 20^{th} day of February, 2012.

anan

Lorraine M. Meltz, Chairman

ATTEST Scott Lindsay, Clerk