Social Services Units

This Department is comprised of three units: the Economic Services Unit, the Services Unit, and the Clerical Unit. Each unit provides a different level of assistance.

Economic Services Unit

The Economic Services Unit, primarily, determines eligibility for medical and financial assistance programs such as:

  • Adult Medicaid
  • Carolina Access
  • Child Care
  • Crisis Program
  • Food and Nutrition Program
  • LIEAP (Low Income Energy Assistance Program)
  • Medicaid to Families and Children
  • North Carolina Health Choice for Children
  • Program Integrity or Fraud Investigation
  • TANF (Temporary Assistance for Needy Families)
  • Work First Employment Services

Services Unit

The Services Unit provides social work services for:

  • Adoption
  • Adult Protective Services
  • Child Protective Services
  • Children, Families and Adults
  • Foster Care
  • Guardianship
  • Monitoring Adult Care Homes
  • Representative Payee

Clerical Unit

The Clerical Unit provides the support functions required for both the Income Maintenance Unit and the Services Unit. The three units must work in coordination with one another on a daily basis in order to adequately assist the individuals and families in our county.